Facebook Screenshot – Will People Get Notifications if I Screenshot their Photos

facebook screenshot photos

Today, social media apps serve as a channel of communication between people. These apps also have a large number of users. One of such platforms is Facebook.

Facebook offers us the chance to connect, share media and even ideas. However, many people feel the site has issues with maintaining the privacy of its users. So, this brings the question-will a user get a notification if I screenshot their profile pictures?

If you’re the one taking the Facebook screenshot, then the answer is a resounding No. Facebook doesn’t inform the person if you make a screenshot of their profile picture. Unlike Snapchat, here the only notification you’ll get is from your phone that you have taken a screenshot.

No, they will not receive a notification. Facebook does not support this feature (which is available on Snapchat). However, you will receive a notification from your phone’s OS take you have made a screenshot.

Also, Facebook Messenger does not send alerts when such screenshots are made. Even if the screenshot is made during a chat with a friend or stranger, your phone’s OS will only alert you about the action.

If you feel worried about people stealing your pictures online via screenshot, then there are ideal measures to handle these issues. However, we suggest you do not post photos or restrict the public from viewing it.

Besides if you want to share pictures with your friends without taking screenshots, there are other alternatives

Simple Ways to Download Your Facebook Picture

The app offers an ideal onboard Share alternative with which you can share pictures without making screenshots. Just tap on the Share Button and send it to your Facebook friend.

You can also open the photo, tap the three-dot menu on it. Tap the Share External button to share on Twitter, Instagram, WhatsApp and so on.

Conclusion on Facebook Screenshot

Since most of the Earth’s population are on Facebook, the social media site should upgrade its security features by restricting the illegal download of your pictures. However, some users have observed that Facebook has moved in this direction by including a profile picture guard on its app.

This feature shows watermark-like lines on downloaded pictures. It even limits the screenshot action till when you are in the profile picture.

Similarly, the option to share or save won’t be there for the protected profile pictures. And speaking of the desktop version, you’ll no longer be able to keep the picture as an image file. Instead, it’ll be downloaded as an HTML file, which is the case with most of the websites.

As expected, the Share or Save option does not appear with protected profile pictures. Regarding the PC version, you cannot save the image. However, since it has experimental features, bugs will pop up during its use.

Overall, Facebook does not send alerts to either party when screenshots are made however the ideal way to save a picture is tap the Share Button. If you are up to it, you can also seek the consent of the owner of the photograph before saving the photo.

Related:

Posted by Abiodun Adewusi

Abiodun Adewusi is a freelance writer who lives in Nigeria. As a writer, he is passionate about providing content on technology helping people keep up with the latest trends. You can see some of his work on Medium and Ezine.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *