Today, WhatsApp serves as one of the most popular messaging apps. It enables us to send text, video, and images to our contacts easily. Although the app helps in many ways, it might become annoying. For one, some contacts might use this platform to share fake news. While others might send media or content which might be offensive.
When you have the above problems, WhatsApp has features which help block such contacts from sending messages to you. But are you curious about what happens to your blocked contacts on WhatsApp?
With this article, we want to show you the signs a blocked WhatsApp contact will see on his phone, especially when using the service. But first, let’s show you how to prevent a number from sending you messages on WhatsApp.
How to Block A Number on WhatsApp
To block someone on your Android phone, tap the three-dot icon at the top-right corner of WhatsApp. Navigate to Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked Contacts. Tap on the Add icon and select the contact that you want to block.
On Android devices, you can block a number on WhatsApp on with the following steps.
- Launch the WhatsApp app.
- Click on the three-dot symbol at the top edge of the home screen.
- Scroll to Navigate to Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked contacts.
- Click on Add and choose the number, you wish to block.
If you use an IOS device, you can block a contact with the following steps.
- Launch the WhatsApp app
- Head to Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked > Add New.
- Select the number you want to block.
On both platforms (iOS and Android), you can block unknown numbers by opening their chats and selecting Block.
Now let’s answer questions about what happens when you block a number on WhatsApp
Will Our Previous Conversations be Affected?
No, it won’t. This is because both old messages, videos, images, and other content are saved on your contact’s phone. However, these files can be deleted manually.
What Happens When a Blocked Contact Sends a New Message to My Phone?
WhatsApp does not inform users when they are blocked. With this in mind, the blocked contact can type a message and send it to you. But the message will not be sent to your phone.
Also, you cannot send messages to a blocked contact. But you can send messages if you after unblocking the person.
Can I Retrieve and View Blocked Messages?
No. When you unblock a WhatsApp contact, all messages received when the account was blocked will not show on your device. Also, there is no method or third-party app that can help recover these messages.
Will My Blocked WhatsApp Contact See a Read Receipt?
WhatsApp features three forms of ticks. First, a single grey tick indicates a sent message. Next, double grey tick shows a delivered message while blue ticks represent a read message.
When a blocked WhatsApp contact sends messages to your device, the user will see a single grey tick which means the text was not delivered to your device.
Can My Blocked WhatsApp Contact Make a Voice Call with Me?
Blocked WhatsApp accounts can make calls to your WhatsApp number. They can even hear the call ringing on their phone. However, on your end, WhatsApp will not notify you about the call.
Also, you will not see any incoming calls at your end. Conversely, you cannot make calls to a blocked contact until you unblock them.
Can My Blocked Contact Check My Last Seen and Online Status?
WhatsApp displays two statuses at the top of its screen. One is Online. This information is displayed when you actively use the app. Another one is the Last Seen. This message points out the last time you used the app. Although you can hide the latter status, you cannot hide the Online status.
However, a blocked contact cannot see when you are online because the space under your name is blank. Also, you cannot view your Last Seen status. Also, you cannot view the Online and Last Seen Status of your blocked contacts.
Can a Blocked WhatsApp Contact See My Profile Picture?
No. Blocked contacts cannot see your Profile Picture. Instead, they will see a default WhatsApp profile pic. But you can see the profile picture of the blocked account at all times except they block you.
Can My Blocked WhatsApp Contact View My Stories?
Although the app has privacy settings for status or stories, blocking your WhatsApp contacts hides your stories from them. It also hides their stories from popping up on your screen.
Concerning your About or textual status, blocked accounts will not see this information. But on your device, you can the About updates of such contacts.
Can My Blocked WhatsApp Contact See My Messages During Group Chats?
If you and the blocked contact are in the same WhatsApp group, both of you will see messages from each other.
Can I Delete Numbers from My Phone by Blocking Them on WhatsApp?
Blocking accounts on WhatsApp does not remove such contacts from your phone book or WhatsApp contact list. However, if you want to remove a person’s number from the list, you need to delete the number from the phone’s memory or phonebook.
How Will I Know If I was Blocked on WhatsApp?
There is no fast and easy method to know if your WhatsApp contact has blocked your number. However, some tips might help you.
- Send a message to the number. If the message stops at a single grey tick for an extended period, the chances are that the same number has blocked you.
- Check the profile picture, Last Seen and Online statuses. If all these items are not visible at the same time, then your number is blocked.
- Try and add the number to a group which you have created. If you can’t add the contact, this means a possible block from that account.
However, we want to remind you that the tips above are not sure proof ways to confirm a WhatsApp block.