WhatsApp is debuting a new feature called “View Once” for photos and videos. The new feature will allow users send photos and videos to recipients that can only be viewed once before disappearing.
“While taking photos or videos on our phones has become such a big part of our lives, not everything we share needs to become a permanent digital record,” Facebook announced in a news post. “On many phones, simply taking a photo means it will take up space in your camera roll forever.”
“That’s why today we’re rolling out new View Once photos and videos that disappear from the chat after they’ve been opened, giving users even more control over their privacy.”
The feature is reminiscent of Snapchat’s disappearing photo which also disappears after it is viewed once. Recipients will still be able to take screenshots of the disappearing photos and videos but WhatsApp will not notify the sender about this, unlike Snapchat. The WhatsApp View Once photos and videos feature will certainly be helpful when users want to send sensitive information like Wi-Fi passwords or documents.
WhatsApp says the View Once media remains end-to-end encryption which means the company cannot see what users are sharing. When a View Once media is sent, it will be marked with a new “one-time” icon which will change to “opened” when it is viewed by the recipient.
The feature is rolling out globally this week and it will be available soon to all users.