A Complete Guide on How to Delete Facebook

download facebook videos on android

Did you know Facebook has over 1.59 billion users across the world? This popularity is not expected to slow down any time soon. Actually, it is an integral part of many people’s social life. But have you ever stopped to think about how secure the social platform is?

When you sign up to Facebook, you consent to their privacy policy by providing basic and personal information. Additionally, they collect more information about you as you share and connect with friends on the platform.

Facebook uses the information it collects for:

  • Targeted Ads
  • Providing information to third parties like government agencies
  • Personalizing your experience on the platform

If you are unhappy with any of this and have lost faith in Facebook, you may want to permanently delete your account. Here’s how you can do it:

Step 1: Analyze what you might Lose

Some services and products are deeply integrated with Facebook and it might be difficult to use them without an account to this social media platform.

The simplest way to determine whether you are dependent on Facebook or not is by temporary deactivating it.

Here’s is how you can do it:

  • Login into your account
  • Click the account menu on the right-hand corner of your Facebook page
  • Go to setting
  • Choose general settings
  • Select “Manage your Account”
  • Hit the Deactivate button and follow the instructions

If you find you have problems with third-party apps or accounts, then you may realize you need Facebook more than you thought. For instance, if you are unable to run your Instagram Ads.

Remember, you can always reverse the deactivation process.

Step 2: Download your Data

We have to agree that Facebook is not all bad. It might have its negative moments like security breaches, but there may also be some things you like or might need to keep. So, if you have reached a point of no return, but still have stuff you want to keep, then you can simply download and save your information by following these basic steps:

  • Login to your account
  • Select the menu option on the right-hand corner
  • Select settings
  • Go to general settings
  • Click the download option to save your Facebook data
  • Click select my archive
  • Confirm this process on the email associated with the account

Step 3: Delete Facebook Account

This might be the hardest part. When you delete your account the process is irreversible. However, if you have had enough of Facebook and wish to take a break, then you can go ahead. Deleting your account means that all of your information on the platform will be lost. All of your messages will go out through the window.

Here is what you do to delete your Facebook account:

  • Login into your account
  • Click the account menu on the right-hand corner of your Facebook page
  • Go to setting
  • Choose general settings
  • Select “Manage your Account”
  • Hit “Delete Account”
  • A dialogue box will appear prompting you to enter your password
  • Confirm deletion

Step 4: The Grace Period

After going through the aforementioned process, don’t rejoice yet, your account was not actually erased. Facebook provides a 30-day period in case you change your mind. Importantly, the process of purging all of your information and backups from the network servers can take up to 90 days.

It provides the option of reversing the process during this duration. Many people can’t resist the temptation of logging in during these trying times. Stay strong don’t look back.

Step 5: Disconnect it from all other Integrated Accounts or Apps

If you want to stay as far away as possible from Facebook then you should also delete accounts affiliated to the social platform such as Instagram. Deleting Instagram is much easier than Facebook because it’s not as wide-reaching.

However, remember you can still keep your Instagram account even without Facebook.

Make sure you detach all apps and accounts that were linked to Facebook and use your email instead.

Step 6: Eliminate any Form of Tracking

Now that you have moved on, make sure that you end your relationship with Facebook completely by blocking the platform from tracking your browsing.

Familiarize yourself with the methods they use to track you and getting rid of them. You can do this by:

  • Clearing cookies
  • Installing a tracker blocker
  • Resetting your Ad identifier

Protect Your Privacy Further

If you follow the above procedures, then you can celebrate that you have gotten rid of Facebook. It can be a daunting procedure, but if your privacy means a lot to you, don’t look back. In fact, if you have gone this far, you could even take some additional steps for complete privacy and security online. Our two bonus tips for doing this include:

  1. Use a quality VPN service to hide your IP address and encrypt your internet traffic so that your Internet Service Provider (ISP) or any snooping entities cannot see it.
  2. Use Tor Browser for the most sensitive internet activities, you can even use it in combination with a VPN to help you stay as anonymous as possible.  

Related:

Posted by Biodun

Passionate about Technology and everything concerning it. Avid Gamer and Music Lover. Loves Chelsea FC. Overall, a nice guy. Find me on Instagram and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *