Death Stranding Earns Numerous Nominations in The Game Awards 2019

the game awards 2019 - death stranding nominations

After the success of its Metal Gear Solid series over the years, many were looking forward to how Hideo Kojima’s next project would look like when Death Stranding was announced years ago. Almost two weeks since its release, the game has garnered mixed reviews but overall, it’s been positive. In the upcoming Game Awards slated to be presented December 12, Death Stranding has earned the most nominations.

Death Stranding was nominated in nine categories including Game of the Year, Best Action/Adventure Game, Best Game Direction, Best Art Direction and Best Score. The game’s leading characters, The Walking Dead’s Norman Reedus, who plays Sam “Porter” Bridges and Danish actor Mads Mikkelsen who portrays Cliff also got nominated in the Best Performance category.

God of War won last year’s Game of the Year award at The Game Awards 2018. The annual awards show is the Oscars representation for the gaming industry since it was established in 2014. This year’s awards will be streamed. On more than 60. Global media platforms. The 2018 awards garnered over 1.13 million concurrent viewers on Twitch, twice as much as the 2017 edition.

The Game Awards 2019 Nominations

Game of the Year

  • Control (Remedy/505 Games)
  • Death Stranding (Kojima Productions/Sony Interactive Entertainment).
  • Resident Evil 2 (Capcom)
  • Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice (From Software/Activision)
  • Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Bandi-Namco/Sora/Nintendo)
  • The Outer Worlds (Obsidian/Private Division)

Action Game 

  • Apex Legends (Respawn/EA)
  • Astral Chain (Platinum Games/Nintendo
  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare (Infinity Ward/Activision)
  • Devil May Cry 5 (Capcom)
  • Gears 5 (The Coalition/Xbox Game Studios)
  • Metro Exodus (4A Games/Deep Silver)

Action/Adventure Game

  • Borderlands 3 (Gearbox/2K)
  • Control (Remedy/505 Games
  • Death Stranding (Kojima Productions/Sony Interactive Entertainment)
  • Resident Evil 2 (Capcom)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening (Grezzo/Nintendo)
  • Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice (From Software/Activision)

eSports Game of the Year

  • Counterstrike: Global Offensive (Valve)
  • DOTA 2 (Valve)
  • Fortnite (Epic Games)
  • League of Legends (Riot Games)
  • Overwatch (Blizzard)

For other categories and to vote, visit the Game Awards website.

Posted by Biodun

Passionate about Technology and everything concerning it. Avid Gamer and Music Lover. Loves Chelsea FC. Overall, a nice guy. Find me on Instagram and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *