Instagram is working on a feature that will let users remove themselves from someone’s “Close Friends” list. The feature is still in its early stages and has not yet been tested. Parent company, Meta, told TechCrunch on Friday.
Currently, Instagram does not notify users or ask for their permission to be included in a mutual followers’ Close Friends list. People are added automatically by friends, and they only see that they have been added when a user shares Stories, Reels, or Posts to the Close Friends list, which usually contains a select group of people. The feature was first introduced in 2018, and users have no option to remove themselves from the list.
Popular reverse engineer Alessandro Paluzzi, who is known for detecting features before they are released, first spotted the internal prototype on Thursday. In a screenshot shared on X, Instagram will warn users before exiting a Close Friends list that they will not be able to see content released only to Close Friends anymore until they are added again by the user.
It is not known yet when Instagram will begin testing the feature publicly, but it’s a welcome feature for users who wonder why they have been added to a person’s Close Friends list when they are not really close with the person. Paluzzi also added that Instagram is working on a paid subscription that will offer new perks, including the ability to create an unlimited audience list, see users who don’t follow back, and view Stories without the poster seeing.
Snapchat, the pioneer of Stories, and Instagram’s long-standing competitor, already lets users remove themselves from someone’s private story.

