Instagram today announced Live Rooms which will allow users add up to three more users when going live on Instagram. Previously, a user can only add one other user to an Instagram Live broadcast.
With Four people now being able go live together, this means more users will get notified during live broadcasts and users will get to reach a larger audience. Instagram normally notifies followers of account involve in a live session. Instagram says viewers will be able to buy badges for Live Rooms hosts and have access to features such as Shopping and Live Fundraisers.
“We hope that doubling up on Live will open up more creative opportunities — start a talk show, host a jam session or co-create with other artists, host more engaging Q&As or tutorials with your following, or just hang out with more of your friends,” Instagram announced in a blog post.
Live Rooms works just the way going live normally works. To use the feature, open your Instagram app and swipe from left to right. Beneath the screen, select the Live camera option to start a live broadcast. During your live broadcast, up to three people can be added when they request to join your live or you can search and users manually.
“We want Instagram to be the best place for creators to have meaningful conversations with their audiences and each other, and we designed this new update with safety in mind,” the Facebook-owned company announced. “People that are blocked by any of the active participants in the Live Room will not be able to join the Live. Guests who have had live access revoked because of violations of our Community Guidelines also won’t be able to join a Live Room. Features that are currently available to Live hosts, such as the ability to report and block comments, and apply comment filters will also be available to hosts of Live Rooms.”
Live Rooms will be soon be available globally to everyone on Instagram.